Welcome Guest! To enable all features please try to register or login.
using swf instead of gif for animated in zaby
SYNTHESPIA2
#1 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2010 3:14:08 PM(UTC)

Rank: Junior Utherverse Member

Joined: 12/20/2008(UTC)
Posts: 66
i am in a zaby now and i want to use the swf (flash) instead of the gif that i have always used for animations because i am told that it causes less lag and eliminates the white border. on the photobucket account i am using (it is pro account) they provide the swf information as an option for every picture. but it is really long and does not all fit in the flash place in the prop edit. so how do i know what part of it i put in? i tried some guesses and in one case the picture came up but it was not animated. i used the sign animated (maybe that is wrong?) when i use a gif for an animated file i use dummy.

anyone know the answers? thank you.

syn Smile
PAPISHULO_SWAT
#2 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2010 4:18:07 PM(UTC)

Rank: Advanced Utherverse Member

Joined: 7/25/2009(UTC)
Posts: 166
Medals:
what long the url???? and i think 2 put a flash you have to use the scrip atach flash and i think any prop will work on flash if the flash url is too long try to put a short name for the flash and upload to you default folder to make the url short
The_Wraith
#3 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2010 6:28:18 PM(UTC)


Rank: God Utherverse Member

Joined: 4/19/2009(UTC)
Posts: 2,812
Location: Texas
Medals:
Photobucket gives you a flash link in the options. But that is the HTML code to post flash in sites. For the editer you need to use the Direct Link the same as you do with any other texture.



Click banner to go to site.
Donations are always welcome :-)
SYNTHESPIA2
#4 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2010 9:07:46 PM(UTC)

Rank: Junior Utherverse Member

Joined: 12/20/2008(UTC)
Posts: 66
Ok I am mixed up. Here is example. If I have an animated gif of a waterfall. I use a "dummy" and then I go to photobucket and get the code that says "direct link" and it looks like this:
<p>
http://i225.photobucket....Waterfall2.gif<p>

i put that into the "script" "attach web browser" and then i put in the eight and width and then play around to minimize the white boarder that is always there. <p>

Now I am using a frieds photobcket account that is profesional and it lists for this waterfall photo an option called "flash code" and it looks like this:<p>

<table border="0" width="240" style="border: none; font-family: Myriad, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif;"><tr><td colspan="2" style="border: none;"><embed type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" allowNetworking="all" src="http://w225.photobucket.com/flash/tagWidget.swf?mediaURL=aHR0cDovL2kyMjUucGhvdG9idWNrZXQuY29tL2FsYnVtcy9kZDE5NC9JTlpBTkVaQU5TVEVSL2Zhdm9yaXRlcy9XYXRlcmZhbGwyLmdpZg%3D%3D" width="240" height="320"/></td></tr><tr valign="middle"><td align="left" style="border: none;"><img border="0" src="http://pic.photobucket.com/tagWidget/see_more.gif"/></td><td align="right" style="vertical-align: middle; border: none;"><a href="http://photobucket.com/tagging/" style="vertical-align: middle; text-weight:bold; color: #0000CC; text-decoration: none;" target="_blank"><img border="0" src="http://pic.photobucket.com/tagWidget/tag_images.gif"/></a></td></tr></table><p>

I was told I can use a swf file and place it into the "script" "attach flash" "movie url" part of the editor and i will have the animated waterfall without any white boarder and it will cause less lag than if I use the animated gif option. <p>

My problem is I do not know what to put it on and I do not know what part of that long thing photobucket gives me to put into the movie url spot. meaning do i use a "sign" and if so which one. or a plane? etc. And what part of that long "flash code" is the "swf" equivilent of the "gif" direct link. <p>

this is mixing me up ha ha

syn
SYNTHESPIA2
#5 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2010 9:09:45 PM(UTC)

Rank: Junior Utherverse Member

Joined: 12/20/2008(UTC)
Posts: 66
like i am thinking part of that big long flash link is the direct link swf version? but what part and what do i put it on? a sign which one etc.

syn
The_Wraith
#6 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2010 9:49:03 PM(UTC)


Rank: God Utherverse Member

Joined: 4/19/2009(UTC)
Posts: 2,812
Location: Texas
Medals:
SYNTHESPIA2 wrote:
like i am thinking part of that big long flash link is the direct link swf version? but what part and what do i put it on? a sign which one etc.

syn

Use the Direct Link the same as you do on a regular texture.

So out of all that code the only part you need is
Code:
http://w225.photobucket.com/flash/tagWidget.swf

The rest is all HTML coding to adjust size and placement on a web page. The scipt in the editer has the options for that already. So all you need is the link to the file itself.



Click banner to go to site.
Donations are always welcome :-)
slaphappygirl
#7 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2010 12:35:58 AM(UTC)

Rank: Senior Utherverse Member

Joined: 11/26/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,844
Medals:
If the file extension you have from photobucket is .gif you are not using a flash file. You need to convert the original file to flash format instead of gif. You will have a file that has the extension .swf to work with that way.

Come visit me at my shop on the beach at vww://utherverse.vww/@5566/slappyscloset.
klasscdame
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2010 10:21:15 AM(UTC)


Rank: Advanced Utherverse Member

Joined: 8/24/2009(UTC)
Posts: 254
Medals:
don't use dummy, its not a gif - think of it as just a normal image - use either a sign or a wall just as you would with any image and then just put the direct link to the image in under the "attach flash" function

Deb

Klasscy's Nursery Hub





Lord_SilverStone
#9 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 6:13:01 AM(UTC)

Rank: Junior Utherverse Member

Joined: 3/6/2009(UTC)
Posts: 86
SYNTHESPIA2 wrote:
i have always used for animations because i am told that it causes less lag



Just be careful with this though. If you have a bunch of flash animations going on in a club it will cause a sever frame rate(FPS) drop. If you are only using like 1 you will barely notice the difference, but say you have like 5-10 going on at a time you will have a very low FPS and everyone will seem to "lag".

For instance in my Casino I have there are like 20 flash programs running. When you first come in the door you will get a low frame rate, but once you move a bit the frame rate will go back up. This is because you have all the animations in your LOS(line of sight) and your graphics card is drawing all of them. But when you move to 1 animation in front of you and start playing the frame rate goes back to its normal state.

Also with some of the Flash Games out there if there is movement on the menu screen of the game it will cause a big drop in frame rate. If you have a game that has a static menu you will barely notice any frame rate droppage. So if you are using a bunch of Flash Games in an area try to find those with minimal movement on the menu screen.

Lord SilverStone
SYNTHESPIA2
#10 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 2:59:05 PM(UTC)

Rank: Junior Utherverse Member

Joined: 12/20/2008(UTC)
Posts: 66
thank you everyone for your responses. i am just now seeing this so i have not tried but i will and i appreciate the help.

syn Smile
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Clean Slate theme by Jaben Cargman (Tiny Gecko)
Powered by YAF | YAF © 2003-2010, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.202 seconds.
TC-IIS-2